Docpoint – Helsinki Documentary Film Festival


My Reality

My Reality follows the post-television lives of three women who participated in reality TV shows. They were expecting experiences and interesting challenges but ended up facing harsh vitriol. The return to normal life was shadowed by shame, bullying, and constant threats.

Mira Ahola, who participated in Temptation Island with her partner, found herself in the centre of a whirlwind of hatred, when the traumatic end of her relationship was televised. Meiju Koskela, who participated in Temptation Island twice, says that the bullying and threats escalated after the shows ended. Big Brother participant Eeva-Leena ”Eevis” Keskinen was shocked by the treatment of the contestants and believes that the actions of the production company were unethical and illegal.

The trio ponders people’s attitudes toward reality stars. Why do so many think that bullying is justified, when the target is someone who participated in a reality show? Should you try to get rid of the reality label, and would that even be possible? On the other hand, participating in the shows has also had a positive impact on them. Fame has increased interest in Mira’s personal training services, and Meiju’s work as influencer has picked up steam due to followers brought on by the TV shows. Eevis hopes that she can improve the position of future reality TV participants by discussing the problematic side of the shows publicly. 

Mira Sairanen (translated by Inari Ylinen)

Director Milja-Liina Moilanen and producer Venla Hellstedt attend the screening of their film on Thu, Feb 1.

Language: Finnish, English
Subtitles: English
Length: 70 min
Age Limit: K7
Year: 2024
Production Country: Finland

Director: Milja-Liina Moilanen
Producer: Elli Toivoniemi, Juha Löppönen, Venla Hellstedt, Selma Vilhunen
Production Company: Tuffi Films
Distribution Company: Tuffi Films
Screenplay: Milja-Liina Moilanen, Eveliina Pasanen
Editing: Okku Nuutilainen, Sabina Köteleki
Cinematographer: Päivi Kettunen, Sonja Huttunen
Music: Joona Jaakkola
Sound Design: Aleksi Tegel