Audience-votes and awards

Audience-votes and awards are an important part of DocPoint. They are the handed by to professionals who have distinguished themselves in the field of documentary filmmaking. Every year the festival hands an Aho & Soldan Award or an Apollo Award. From 2014 on, the audience has had a change to vote for their favourite from the New Finnish Documentary Films series.

Audience’s favourite: Select your choice from DocPoint’s New Finnish Films programme!

The audience gets once again to pick their favorite out of the films in the DocPoint New Finnish Films programme. During the festival week, the audience gets to cast their vote at second screening (2/3) of each film in New Finnish Films programme. In 2014, the Audience’s Award winner was Tonislav Hristov’s hilarious comedy Love & Engineering. In 2015 the Audience award was given to Leaving Africa, by Iiris Härmä, in 2016 the audience picked Sparrooabban by Suvi West and in 2017 the winner was My Secred Forest by Niina Brandt. The Audience Award 2019 was given to Gods of Molenbeek by Reetta Huhtanen. 

Critic’s Choice

The Critic’s Choice Award are chosen by international film experts. The Critic’s Choice for the festival 2019 was Gods of Molenbeek by Reetta Huhtanen. 

Aho & Soldan Award:

The Aho & Soldan Lifetime Achievement Award has been granted since the first DocPoint festival in 2002. The criteria for receiving the award are significant efforts in developing creative Finnish documentary film making, as well as a long and outstanding career as a documentary film director.

Aho & Soldan Awards:

2018: Mika Kaurismäki
2014: Kanerva Cederström
2011: Pekka Lehto
2010: Kiti Luostarinen
2005: Peter von Bagh
2004: Pirjo Honkasalo
2003: Lasse Naukkarinen
2002: Markku Lehmuskallio

Apollo Award:

The Apollo Award is given out to an individual or organisation that has significantly promoted Finnish documentary film and has distinguished themselves in the field of documentary film making. The award is named after Ateljee Apollo, the first notable documentary film production company in Finland, founded in 1904. The award was established in 2006, in honour of the festival’s 5th annniversary, and it is handed out in alternation with the Aho & Soldan Lifetime Achievement Award.

Apollo Awards:

2019: Marita Hällfors
2017: Eila Ranta (Werning)
2016: Illume Oy (production company)
2015: Reijo Nikkilä
2013: Tuula Mehtonen
2012: Iikka Vehkalahti
2009: Epidem Oy (production company)
2008: Jörn Donner
2007: Ilkka Kippola
2006: Jarmo Jääskeläinen